Action Movie Fanatix Review: Paranormal Activity

Action Movie Fanatix review banner for Paranormal ActivityWhat Happens When You Sleep?

Starring: Katie Featherston, Micah Sloat

Director: Oren Peli

2007 | 86 Minutes | Rated R

“It’s getting worse.” – Katie

I have mostly avoided the Paranormal Activity series. I don’t really know why. It’s certainly up my alley and I actually saw Paranormal Activity 2 a number of years ago and liked it. I just never got around to seeing the original or any of the further sequels.

Young couple Micah and Katie have recently moved into a new home and find that they are increasingly disturbed by a paranormal presence.

Like I said, it’s been a few years so my memory could be a little off but this feels a little more “home movie” than what I remember of the sequel… good and bad. Good, in that it’s probably a little more realistic feeling than the sequel, and bad, in that it feels a tad amateur in spots.

The couple is relatable and cute… especially Katie Featherston. It’s really pretty incredible that she hasn’t gotten more roles outside this series.

Katie Featherston Paranormal ActivityThings progress very slowly but, unlike some other found footage movies, there is at least SOMETHING happening from the very beginning. I often found myself staring intently at the screen, waiting to see something move ever so slightly. Unfortunately there is a period where the slight scares start to feel a bit boring. You know something better is coming and it gets to the point where you are ready for it and the movie isn’t ready to deliver it yet.

There’s a reason Paranormal Activity has been so often imitated and has spawned 4 (soon to be 5) sequels. It’s a pretty solid (and scary) found footage horror movie. It isn’t perfect but it hits all the notes I am looking for in the genre.

Leave a comment