Action Movie Fanatix Review: BloodRayne 2: Deliverance

BloodRayne 2 Deliverance banner

A Wild West Without Law, A Slayer Without Mercy.

Starring: Natassia Malthe, Zack Ward, Brendan Fletcher, Michael Pare, Chris Coppola, Chris Spencer, Sarah-Jane Redmond, Michael Eklund

Director: Uwe Boll

2007  |  99 Minutes  |  Unrated

“As one we stand together, we fight together and we die together.” – BloodRayne

Uwe Boll’s bad video game adaptations are turning into a guilty pleasure for me.  So far I haven’t found Boll’s movies to be as bad as their reputation precedes.  Hopefully BloodRayne 2: Deliverance keeps that trend going.

BloodRayne’s (Natassia Malthe) journey jumps forward a few hundred years as she finds herself in the American wild west defending the city of Deliverance from Billy the Kid and his band of vampire outlaws.

BloodRayne 2 doesn’t have the star power of its predecessor.  I still can’t believe Ben Kingsley was in that.  BloodRayne is no longer played by Kristanna Loken.  She has been replaced (or more likely had something better to do) by Natassia Malthe whom I don’t recall ever seeing before.  Ms. Malthe does a fine job.

Dropping BloodRayne in the old west seems like a good idea.  Ever so slightly innovative.  For whatever reason the action that a wild west setting would seem to promise is missing for the first 2/3 of the movie.  This seems to be one of the biggest problems Uwe Boll has.  He seems to not understand what people are looking for when they go to see his movies.  He puts so much time into poorly crafting characters and story that by the time you get to the action you have lost a lot of the interest in what is going on.

As with any Uwe Boll movie, he seems to have been able to get a good amount of money together to film.  The sets and wardrobe are surprisingly good considering BloodRayne 2 is basically another DTV movie.

Is it too much to ask for movie makers to try to find actors that even moderately resemble what historical figures actually looked like?  Even if Uwe Boll said that this kid was born to play a vampire version of Billy the Kid, would it have been so difficult to do his hair or his wardrobe similarly to the few pictures that exist of the real man?  Billy the Kid didn’t have a soul patch.  It almost looks like he may have not been able to grow much facial hair.  If anything it appears that he may have had a thin little molester moustache but I guess I would understand if someone decided that wouldn’t look good on screen (as if it looks any good in real life).

So, BloodRayne 2 is kind of a disappointment even though I wasn’t really expecting much.  The first BloodRayne is an all around better movie and that isn’t saying too much.  This one just isn’t very exciting.

2 thoughts on “Action Movie Fanatix Review: BloodRayne 2: Deliverance

    • Well, I’m glad I’m not alone in not enjoying BR2. Sometimes I wonder if my mood at the time determines whether I like a bad movie or not.

      I will check out #3 sometime when I feel like going down that road again. I can’t watch too many bad movies in a row or I start to lose my sanity.

      Thanks for the comment, man.

Leave a comment