Action Movie Fanatix Review: Moon

Moon banner

250,000 Miles From Home,
The Hardest Thing To Face…
Is Yourself.

Starring: Sam Rockwell, Kevin Spacey, Dominique McElligott

Director: Duncan Jones

2009  |  97 Minutes  |  Rated R

“Sam, get some sleep. You’re very tired.” – GERTY

Moon kind of came out of nowhere for me.  I had been craving some good sci-fi lately and overheard someone talking about this in a coffee shop.  Is it creepy that I listened in on their conversation?  Either way, I tracked it down and was highly impressed with what I found.  I couldn’t believe I hadn’t heard of it before.

Sam Bell (Sam Rockwell) is on a three year contract with Lunar.  They have him stationed on the moon collecting a mineral which is the new fuel on earth.  His only companion is a robot named GERTY (Kevin Spacey).  His three years are almost up and he’s getting ready to go home but with no direct human contact for Sam might just be losing his mind.

Movies like this, Gravity, Event Horizon and even Apollo 18, to some degree, fascinate me to no end.  The idea of being completely alone in space freaks me out and blows my mind all at the same time.

Moon is a movie that essentially has one actor, Sam Rockwell, who does a fantastic job.  Kevin Spacey voices GERTY and, I guess, he does fine.  That part really could have been played by anybody with a moderately interesting voice though.

The special effects are very good.  It appears that scale models may have been used for some scenes which is really cool in this day and age of CGI overkill.  The sets are equally believable.

I’m actually going to halt this review right here.  My reviews tend to be shorter when a movie sucks.  In this case the review is only short because I don’t want to give too much away.  Just find Moon and watch it.  It’s not perfect and it certainly isn’t life altering but it really is something different and special that is best viewed with nothing tainting the experience.  How this movie has garnered so little attention is beyond me.

Leave a comment