Action Movie Fanatix Review: The Last Days On Mars

The Last Days on Mars banner

The Search For Life Is About To End.

Starring: Liev Schreiber, Elias Koteas, Romola Garai, Oliva Williams, Johnny Harris, Goran Kostic, Tom Cullen, Yusra Warsama

Director: Ruairi Robinson

2013  |  98 Minutes  |  Rated R

“I always took you for a pessimist.” – Rebecca Lane

I had been looking forward to seeing The Last Days on Mars since I first saw the poster and trailer.  It looked like a solid sci-fi movie.  Plus Liev Schreiber.

While a crew of astronauts on Mars is waiting for a ship that will return them to Earth, one discovers a strain of bacteria that turns humans into killers.

The Last Days On Mars started with some serious potential.  It starts off feeling like a true science fiction movie.  They’re mining the planet of Mars, encounter something weird.  Then the movie quickly makes a turn from science fiction to old school horror.

I don’t really want to ruin anything but I’m not sure this movie’s secret is worth saving.  Basically, we get space zombies.  They look kinda cool, like a cross between zombies and some sort of ice aliens, but they’re still kinda zombies.  It feels like we have seen this all before… many times.  In fact, the first kill happens when one of the space zombies picks up a drill and drills a guy right in his guts.  I’m sure that would suck but it was like something straight out of The Crazies I had watched a few weeks ago.  Did I really have to go to Mars to see this?

All the zombie movie benchmarks are here.  There’s even the clichéd scene with a guy making a rash decision to save his own life at the expense of a colleague.

On the plus side the acting is decent.  The Mars landscape and all the spacey bits looks pretty fantastic.  And the final fifteen minutes or so are actually pretty awesome considering the majority of the movie was actually rather boring.

Maybe the problem was my expectations going in.  I don’t think it was too unreasonable to expect a sci-fi movie from a movie called The Last Days on Mars.

2 thoughts on “Action Movie Fanatix Review: The Last Days On Mars

  1. Damn, I’ve heard many mixed opinions on this but the cliche things that you mentioned sound…well…really cliche. Not sure if I still plan to see this at some point! Good review boss!

    • I don’t know, man. I probably went in with the wrong idea about the movie but I feel like that is what they wanted with the trailers, posters, etc. You call a movie The Last Days On Mars, people are going to expect sci-fi. It might be better if you go in knowing not to expect good sci-fi and instead expect a Martian zombie movie.

Leave a comment